Select a language for instant Google Translation

Monday, 27 October 2014

Ethiopia’s Regional Diplomacies: A Dominant Interpretation of the Horn of Africa

  Mehari Taddele Maru

SAIIA Policy Briefing No 112, October 2014


pdf  Download - English (65.45 kB) South African Foreign Policy and African Drivers Programme

The Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia shares borders with the eastern African countries Djibouti, Eritrea, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan and Sudan. A founding member of the UN, the African Union (AU), the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), Ethiopia pursues its regional interests multilaterally through these organisations, albeit mainly through a dominant role in IGAD.

Read the occassional paper: A Regional Power in the Making: Ethiopian Diplomacy in the Horn of Africa

Author: Mehari Taddele Maru